36 Members of Congress Co-Sign Bipartisan Sleep Letter

On April 25, 2022, an incredible 36 U.S. Representatives signed onto a bipartisan letter in support of sleep, sleep disorders, and sleep health disparities priorities.

Given only several days to activate this spring, the incredible sleep community rallied quickly across the country. Your tremendous outreach to over 200 Congressional Offices on Capitol Hill resulted in 36 co-signers in just a few days, which is very impressive by Congressional appropriations letter standards. In prior years with more time to advocate, we’ve gotten 31 co-signers in 2019, 41 co-signers in 2020, and 54 co-signers in 2021. This continued momentum goes so far to advance the sleep community’s medical research and public awareness efforts.

Meet the 36 Co-Signers

Please join us in thanking the bipartisan group of 36 Representatives who joined the letter including:

  • Congressman Adam B. Schiff of CA-28
  • Congressman Jake Auchincloss of MA-4
  • Congresswoman Karen Bass of CA-37
  • Congressman Sean Casten of IL-6
  • Congressman Gerald E. Connolly of VA-11
  • Congresswoman Madeleine Dean of PA-4
  • Congressman Peter A. DeFazio of OR-4
  • Congresswoman Diana DeGette of CO-1
  • Congresswoman Anna G. Eshoo of CA-18
  • Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick of PA-1
  • Congressman Bill Foster of IL-11
  • Congressman Jared Golden of ME-2
  • Congressman Josh Gottheimer of NJ-5
  • Congressman Vicente Gonzalez of TX-15
  • Congressman James Himes of CT-4
  • Congressman Mondaire Jones of NY-17
  • Congressman William Keating MA-9
  • Congressman Ron Kind of WI-3
  • Congressman Stephen Lynch of MA-8
  • Congressman Gregory W. Meeks of NY-5
  • Congressman Tom O’Halleron of AZ-01
  • Congressman Chris Pappas of NH-1
  • Congressman Bill Posey of FL-8
  • Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley of MA-7
  • Congressman Jamie Raskin of MD-8
  • Congresswoman Deborah Ross of NC-02
  • Congressman C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger of MD-2
  • Congresswoman Mary Gay Scanlon of PA-5
  • Congresswoman Janice Schakowsky of IL-9
  • Congresswoman Marilyn Strickland of WA-10
  • Congressman Mike Thompson of CA-5
  • Congresswoman Nydia M. Velázquez of NY-7
  • Congressman Peter Welch of VT
  • Congresswoman Susan Wild of PA-7
  • Congresswoman Nikema Williams of GA-5
  • Congressman John Yarmuth of KY-3

What If Your Representative Didn’t Sign On?

If your Representative did not sign on, it does NOT mean they didn’t support your request. Importantly, some may have put in the requests using a confidential process rather than this public process (which is their prerogative and still advances our cause). Similarly, many of your Representatives serve on the subcommittee that the letter is addressed to, so they prefer not to be both a sender and receiver. Securing 36 co-signers is a huge win that took everyone’s efforts!

Thank You!

Special thanks to Congressman Adam Schiff and his office for championing this letter, especially Kaitlyn who organized all the co-signers. Thanks to all the Congressional Offices who responded to their constituents’ requests and signed on.

Thank you for sharing your story and for making your voice heard! Likewise, thank you to the other sleep advocacy organizations who took action. For today, we hope you take great pride in what we accomplished together by reading and sharing this year’s final official letter.

We will keep you updated on the letter’s impact and share additional advocacy opportunities throughout the year. To be the first to hear about future action alerts, sign up for e-updates.

Thank you for your support!

Share this...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Skip to content