33 Members of Congress Sign Letter for Sleep Research and Awareness

On March 24, 2023, a bipartisan group of 33 U.S. Representatives co-signed a Congressional letter in support of prioritizing sleep medical research and public awareness at a national level.

Starting on World Sleep Day last Friday, sleep advocates took action across the country.  Your powerful outreach reached over 200 Congressional Offices on Capitol Hill and resulted in 33 co-signers in just a few days, which is very impressive by Congressional appropriations letter standards. In prior years, we’ve gotten 31 co-signers in 2019, 41 co-signers in 2020, 54 co-signers in 2021, and 36 co-signers in 2022. This continued momentum is critical to advance sleep health, sleep equity, and sleep disorders at a national level.

Meet the 33 Co-Signers of the 2023 Congressional Sleep Letter

Please join us in thanking the bipartisan group of 33 Representatives who joined the letter including:

  • Congressman Adam B. Schiff of CA-30
  • Congressman Jake Auchincloss of MA-4
  • Congressman Jamaal Bowman of NY-16
  • Congressman Sean Casten of IL-6
  • Congressman Gerald E. Connolly of VA-11
  • Congresswoman Angie Craig of MN-2
  • Congresswoman Madeleine Dean of PA-4
  • Congressman Donald Davis of NC-1
  • Congresswoman Diana DeGette of CO-1
  • Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick of PA-1
  • Congressman Bill Foster of IL-11
  • Congressman Jared Golden of ME-2
  • Congressman Daniel Goldman (NY-10)
  • Congressman Josh Gottheimer of NJ-5
  • Congressman Vicente Gonzalez of TX-15
  • Congressman James Himes of CT-4
  • Congressman Mike Levin of CA-49
  • Congressman Stephen Lynch of MA-8
  • Congressman Jim McGovern of MA-2
  • Congressman Richard Neal of MA-1
  • Congressman Jimmy Panetta of CA-19
  • Congressman Chris Pappas of NH-1
  • Congressman Donald Payne of NJ-10
  • Congresswoman Chellie Pingree of ME-1
  • Congressman Bill Posey of FL-8
  • Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley of MA-7
  • Congressman Jamie Raskin of MD-8
  • Congressman Patrick Ryan of NY-18
  • Congresswoman Janice Schakowsky of IL-9
  • Congresswoman Terri Sewell of AL-7
  • Congresswoman Elissa Slotkin of MI-7
  • Congresswoman Marilyn Strickland of WA-10
  • Congressman Mike Thompson of CA-4

What If Your Representative Didn’t Sign On?

If your Representative did not sign on, it does NOT mean they didn’t support your request. Some may have put in the requests using a confidential process. Plus, many of your Representatives serve on the subcommittee that the letter is addressed to, so they prefer not to be both a sender and receiver. Securing 33 co-signers is a huge win that took everyone’s efforts!

Thank You!

Special thanks to Congressman Adam Schiff and his office for championing this letter, especially Kaitlyn who organized all the co-signers. Thanks to all the Congressional Offices who responded to their constituents’ requests and signed on.

Thank you for making your voice heard on Capitol Hill! We hope you take great pride in what we accomplished together by reading and sharing this year’s final official letter.

We will keep you updated on the letter’s impact and share additional advocacy opportunities. To hear about future action alerts, sign up for e-updates.

Thank you for your support!

Share this...

1 Comment. Leave new

  • Victor Avis
    April 1, 2023 1:46 pm

    This is amazing and much needed work. We may be able to come alongside you and further this initiative for increased research funding.1


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Skip to content